Championship Trophy


Championship Trophy

Thomas Lyte

Each year, the Six Nations Rugby Trophy is presented to the winning team. Below are some interesting facts regarding the trophy:

  • The idea of a Trophy for Six Nations Rugby was first thought of by the Earl of Westmoreland, and was first presented in 1993 to France (the winners that season). It is held in trust by the Six Nations Championship Trophy Trust.
  • A brand new trophy was created for the 2015 Championship. It replaced the 1993 edition. The 1993 edition is being retired as it represented the nations that took part on the pre-millennium Five Nations Championship, before the inclusion of Italy.
  • Designed and crafted by world-renowned silversmiths Thomas Lyte, the new trophy is the first to truly represent all six participating nations in Six Nations Rugby.
  • The new trophy encompasses both the distinctive history of the tournament and its exciting future. This new design keeps a vital element of the history of the Championship by transferring the names of past winners onto the band of the plinth, with space for future winners.
  • The new trophy is crafted from over 50 pieces. Hand spun from Sterling 925 Silver, the trophy underwent the process of casting, spinning, hand engraving and polishing.
  • The body of the trophy is crafted from a single sheet of Sterling Silver, with the six-sided shape representing each competing nation with each nation's crest, as well as the year they joined the Championship engraved on the plinth.
  • The new trophy is made from 7kg of silver, stands at 75cm high and is adorned with a gold-plated '6' in both handles and a rugby ball and crown device on the lid finial. Over 200 craft hours have been used to make this stunning trophy.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
© 2021 Six Nations Rugby Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM